Successful in the Cluster of Excellence funding line

Seven Clusters of Excellence approved in the Excellence Strategy of the German federal and state governments.
Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Technische Universität Berlin, and Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin have succeeded in attracting seven of their proposed Clusters of Excellence, as part of the Excellence Strategy of the state and the federal governments.

We are proud to mention that 32 ECN-Members are involved in five succeeded Clusters.

Congratulations to all scientists involved on this success!

This allows us to foster collaborations and create closer ties with subdisciplines and raise the profile of the research location even higher in international terms.

Approved Clusters of Excellence in which members of the ECN are involved:

MATH+ The Berlin Mathematics Research Center

Matters of Activity: Image Space Material


Science of Intelligence

Unifying Systems in Catalysis, UniSysCat


On 27 September 2018, the Excellence Commission, consisting of the members of the international Committee of Experts and the research ministers of the federal and state governments, approved 57 Clusters of Excellence to be funded from among the 88 proposed projects. Funding for the new Clusters of Excellence will begin on 1 January 2019. Clusters will be funded for seven years.

Further Information

DFG - Excellence Strategy

Wissenschaftsrat - Excellence Strategy

Cluster proposals

Berlin University Alliance



Go back